Reversible Male Birth Control Without Condoms by 2017

I had to add reversible to my title because I’ve been using condomless male birth control since 2001.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2014/09/09/we-ll-have-male-birth-control-by-2017.html

When I got my vasectomy, I specifically told the doctor to make sure I wouldn’t be one of those one in a thousand cases of recanalization, where the vas deferens grows back together. Si, I got severed, tied, and cauterized. I also told him to make sure not to cut the same tube twice, as sometimes happens.

He told me that he didn’t want me to be one of those guys who come back asking for vasectomy reveral surgery. I haven’t been.

But, surprisingly, not everyone is like me. Whodda thunk it?

Some men don’t want permanent sterilization. Some people actually want children. (Yes, I know this is the majority opinion. This is my poor attempt at sarcasm.)

Well, good news guys!! By 2017, if all goes well, there will be a polymer that can be inserted into your vasa deferentia (the proper plural for your two vas deferens tubes) that blocks sperm at the source with no ill side effects. They’ve been testing this in baboons. In most cases, I am against animal testing, especially with highly intelligent animals such as primates. But, the 3 male baboons in the current study seem to be better off than many captive monkeys, especially in medical labs. They may even be saying the baboon equivalent of “woo hoo”, which may even be “woo hoo”. Free would be better still, of course.

Anyway, for men and women, this is a great leap forward. Women can, at least if in a monogamous relationship with a man who has this procedure, stop taking hormones that cause … well … just about every side effect imaginable and a few you wouldn’t have imagined.

For the anti-choice crowd, this reduction in unintended pregnancy, and hence abortion, should also be a woo hoo moment. But, since many are religiously motivated by religions that they think say something about both birth control and abortion (though they don’t), many will probably not welcome this. It’ll be interesting to see whether Faux Spews calls the men who do this sluts and whether the Catholic Church argues that they shouldn’t have to pay for insurance that covers the procedure.

Just for the record, in 2001, long before the ACA (ObamaCare), with no muss, no fuss, and no arguing, my standard health insurance policy covered my vasectomy at 100%. The money insurance companies have saved since by the fact that that one paid the whopping $500 for the procedure is probably in the tens of thousands of dollars if you assume we might have accidentally had a child, or probably less but still significant if we had gone for other forms of birth control.

Leave a Reply

