My Halloween Costume is Scarier

For this Halloween, I’m going dressed as the scariest monster in the roughly half-billion year history of multicellular life on this planet. I’m not including a picture of the costume. I’ll leave that to the imagination of the reader.

Be afraid. Be very afraid.

This creature has caused untold death and destruction and even caused the extinction of many more peaceful creatures. The widespread wholesale destruction caused by this monster is immeasurable. This creature is a global catastrophe of epic proportions.

If this creature doesn’t scare the living shit out of you, you’re not paying attention.

I’ve thought about augmenting my outfit with my megadeath machine of semi-random killing. In the U.S. alone, similar devices in a variety of shapes and sizes directly kill about 30,000 people a year and contribute to less direct deaths totaling between 70,000 and 130,000 people per year. I’m probably going to skip taking my megadeath machine out of its special closet since I have no need of help getting where I’m going this evening.

I call my megadeath machine my “Toyota Prius”.

IMHO, the usual Halloween costumes people wear just don’t scare me more than the costumes we wear the other days of the year.

7 Responses to My Halloween Costume is Scarier

  1. ECA says:

    I thought you would go as a HUMAN..
    Who have decimated more species, animals and Each other then ANY bug/virus/creature ever imagined..

  2. Exactly!! That is my costume … or complete lack thereof.

  3. Correct. And, still improving, I might add. Even at that, we had 32,367 traffic fatalities in 2011.

    http://www-fars.nhtsa.dot.gov/Main/index.aspx

    Compare that with 5,031 deaths from terrorism since and including the shooting of Abraham Lincoln in 1865. And, yes, that includes 9/11 as well.

    http://www.johnstonsarchive.net/terrorism/wrjp255a.html

    If that’s not enough to scare you about cars, consider that they also add to air pollution which accounts for 70,000 – 130,000 deaths per year in the U.S. alone and 5,000,000 deaths per year globally.

    But, the point is that humans and our machines in general are very scary indeed. There is no other species that can make a dent in human population anymore, not with today’s technology.

    So, want a scary Halloween costume? Look no farther than a human being. It ain’t the costume that’s scary. It’s the monster in the costume.

  4. The Expulsion Of Gods says:

    And like a virus, we spread across the planet and mostly due to our inane superstitious beliefs, and usually will also destroy anything we care not to understand.

    I’m glad you’re here again…missed ya.

  5. Thanks. I’ve been around but haven’t had the time to keep up with your other heated debate. I need to add some things to that.

  6. The Expulsion Of Gods says:

    Go for it.
    I find the intelligent conversations here very stimulating, and exciting…

    Bobbo? That response to Stix was so masterfully funny that I fell off my chair and couldn’t get my breath! Have you ever thought of talking up comedy? I’ll bet you’d make some serious money at it! That was absolutely witty, and very funny!

Leave a Reply

