Finding Solace in Science?

This matches my views somewhat. I too take solace in science. Though, personally I have a few differences with the text of this article. Still, it’s nice to see that I’m not alone in finding science comforting.

Facing Adversity, Some Find Solace in Science

So, what are my differences in this?

Well, for me, “belief in science” is sort of a nonsense phrase. It implies that science is on par with religion. It isn’t. Religion must be taken on faith. Science is provable and proven. But, that’s not really the point of this article. It’s just a pet peeve of mine. The idea that someone can disbelieve science while reading this blog on a computer that makes use of scientific theories of electricity and magnetism and even quantum mechanics is ludicrous. Ludicrous but true, of course. As ludicrous and true as the idea of people disbelieving evolution but using modern medicine that is deeply and profoundly dependent on the fact of evolution and even the theory of natural selection.

But, getting past my pet peeves, this quote goes a bit beyond what I would state about science, ‘describe as seeing science “as a superior, even exclusive, guide to reality, and as possessing a unique and central value.”’ For me, science is superior to any other attempt we have made to understand the universe and all it contains including ourselves. But, to say that it is exclusive implies that it is the only way any species could ever hope to understand the universe. That we have not come up with anything better does not imply that no other method exists. It says more about our brains and their ability to understand than it does about other possibilities. This does not mean that I see other attempts humans have made such as religion or philosophy to be on par with science. It merely acknowledges that there may be more possibilities.

Next, I’d like to hope that my own opinions of science do not radically change with adversity. I may turn to science to understand the cause of the adversity, such as someone suffering or dying prematurely, but would like to believe that my opinions of science remain constant and change only with the changing data and theories of science itself.

Lastly, I’d like to say that science for me is not only far more comforting than any religion but that religion to me actually increases the stress from adversity. Were I to believe in a deity and see a friend die of AIDS, a cousin die suddenly of a heart attack just before the birth of her first grandchild, or my mother living with Parkinson’s for 38 years, I would be constantly looking over my shoulder wondering what that sick fuck had in store for me next. Knowing that there is no such creature guiding such misfortune and knowing that statistically most of us will experience some degree of such things and some will even experience more than others is far more comforting than thinking that someone actively has it in for me.

3 Responses to Finding Solace in Science?

  1. Rodnikov Magillovich says:

    Amen, brother!

  2. Rodnikov Magillovich says:

    No apology necessary! I was being my usual facetious self!

Leave a Reply

