A More Rigorous Take on the Jesus Myth

Dr. Richard Carrier, an expert in ancient history, explains why he changed his mind about the existence of an historical Jesus.

Note that this also goes a long way into explaining the relationship between the Jesus myth and other myths around at that time, as well as the synthesis of the myths that produced this character and how he was Euhemerized into a flesh and blood creature long after his supposed death.

This thread now replaces my outdated and incorrect thread that equated Jesus with Horus. The reality of the synthesis of other characteristics and some new stuff into the Jesus myth is far more complicated.

If you have any genuine interest in this subject, please do watch the entire video, even though it is an hour long. If you have even more interest, the book will be out soon. I don’t personally have that much interest. The video is enough for me.

6 Responses to A More Rigorous Take on the Jesus Myth

  1. LEjames says:

    I tried to watch the video but the youtube player, I don’t know, it just keeps stopping.

    Thanks anyways, looks interesting.

  2. Ed Ward MD says:

    Nice to see the change from the first to last post.

    My related information:

    Holy Horus: The Jesus Origin Exposed; The Real Truth About Religion and Its Origins, and Annuit Coeptis Novus Ordo Seclorum;

    Zionism – The Worst Plague In The History Of Mankind;Talmud: The ‘Bible’ of Genocidal Bigots. Conflicting Zionist Lies Expose “Tob Shebbe Goyyim Harog”, and Warning: The Deadliest CAMERA on the Internet;

    Anderson Cooper and CNN Caught Staging Fake News about Syria to Justify Military Intervention [videos] Thanks for your efforts. Best…

  3. Ed,

    I think I’d need to have a bit more information about your views. What little you posted makes me think that you have more than just a hatred for the Judeo-Christian-Islamic religion, but for the people themselves. I’m not sure if I’m reading your choppy post correctly. But, it sounds a bit bigoted and antisemetic to me.

    Please understand that for my part, I hate the Judeo-Christian-Islamic religion itself precisely because it divides people into sects and causes each sect to hate members of all of the other sects. So, it is precisely this xenophobia that causes me to hate the religion and its effect on people.

    But, while I do hate our entire species as a whole for our effect on this once beautiful planet, I do not hate any group of people more than any other group of people whether they follow the desert war god (Yahweh/Jesus/Allah, all one and the same) or not.

    Get it? I am not bigoted in my hatred of humanity. From your post, I suspect that you may be. Perhaps you would like to clear that up?

  4. Here’s someone asserting that the evidence points to Romans creating the Jesus myth as mind control. Interesting. It seems to me that the ground is really being pulled out from under Christianity one bit at a time. But, as opinion seems to be growing that Jesus never actually walked the face of the earth, if at least historic consensus forms on the subject, it will be a very big blow to Christianity.

    http://uk.prweb.com/releases/2013/10/prweb11201273.htm

  5. Here’s a new take stating how the view that Jesus never existed is still in the minority but is growing.

    http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2014/08/did-jesus-exist-growing-number-of-scholars-dont-think-so/

    I love this:

    The historical Jesus (if there was one) might well have been a messianic king, or a progressive Pharisee, or a Galilean shaman, or a magus, or a Hellenistic sage. But he cannot very well have been all of them at the same time.

    — Robert Price

Leave a Reply

