To Breed Or Not To Breed, That Is The Question

When Population Connection posted this on their official Facebook page, they warned of strong language. If 4 shits and a fuck are too much for you, you’ve come to the wrong blog. The cursing is neither particularly offensive nor in high enough quantity to detract from the content, IMNSHO.

We Have Enough Humans, Thanks.

On to the topic, when I had my vasectomy at 38, I knew I was not alone. However, I didn’t realize I was part of a movement. In fact, at that time, I probably hadn’t even heard of the good folks at the Voluntary Human Extinction Movement. I did find though that with zero kids, even in New York City and even at age 38, some doctors gave me hassles about wanting a vasectomy. I suggested to one that he counsel people that having a child is permanent, at least in most cases.

The doctor I went with did mention that he had a significant percentage come back for reversal, which is a more costly and difficult operation, not to mention is not guaranteed to work. He made sure to tell me not to come back to him if I changed my mind.

I haven’t had any regrets yet.

In fact, as I question where the world is going and why it is in this giant hand-basket, I am more glad than ever that it won’t be my kids dealing with the coming hell.

Oh, and if you still want to breed after this, please first take this very important intelligence test to see how well you do.

http://vhemt.org/biobreed.htm#intelltest

Just kidding. If you still want to breed, at least now it will likely be a conscious choice. That should help a bit.

2 Responses to To Breed Or Not To Breed, That Is The Question

  1. I love your blog! My husband and I stopped breeding after one child. We were in our early 30’s when he got a vasectomy. Eight years later, the vasectomy failed and I ended up pregnant w/twins. This is extremely rare but it can happen…My husband got snipped for the second time and I terminated the pregnancy due to MANY reasons…Catholic family members still BEG us to reverse the vasectomy (vasectomy #2) which makes us laugh…We are now HUGE advocates of Planned Parenthood in Texas and support the Texas Equal Access Fund which helps poor women bypass the Hyde Amendment. It’s nice to know there are others out there who “get” the situation. Thank you so much for your writing & I plan on being a regular reader!!!

    • Thanks for the compliment. I’d heard about the 1 in 1000 odds of recanalization before my own vasectomy. I told the doctor to do everything possible to prevent it in my own case. Snipped, tied, and cauterized. And, of course I waited the mandatory period before unprotected sex and got retested to ensure sterility after the operation.

      Of course, since you got pregnant 8 years later, you and your husband obviously followed the instructions as well and just got to be the unlucky 1 in the thousand. I’m sorry to hear he had to go through it twice and that you had to have an abortion.

      I should note here that I do not advocate abortion. I always recommend sex ed and protected sex to minimize the need. But, when the need arises, having the choice is very important. I am strongly pro-choice.

      No method of birth control is really 100%, except perhaps hysterectomy, though I have never ever heard of a case of this procedure being used for birth control.

Leave a Reply

