One Day == $720,000,000

How would you like it spent?

Here’s the link for anyone who wants to sign the petition.

18 Responses to One Day == $720,000,000

  1. Higghawker says:

    Ron Paul Ron Paul Ron Paul

  2. Misanthropic Scott says:

    Higghawker,

    I’m not big on Ron Paul’s “freedom to starve” mentality, nor am I thrilled with his willingness to impose his religious beliefs on others with respect to abortion.

    Even if I were thrilled with his politics, I still would not just give $720,000,000/day to him.

    Personally, I’d like to see a lot of the money go to renewable energy. As long as we are dependent on fossil fuels we are quite literally committing species suicide.

    I’d also like to see a good portion of it go to national health care which would save this country a huge sum of money by getting rid of the for-profit health industry whose goal, as required by law, is to make as much money as possible and give as little care as possible.

  3. I’d like to see that money spent on education and alternative energy research/development. Be energy self-sufficient, and regain the competitive edge so our trade deficit goes away.

    I’d think we’d do more to “reform” the “damaged” nations of the world, if we focused on being a nation everyone envied and emulated – rather than policing the world.

    Oh, note about the Israeli Electric Cars. These days, I’m more excited about air cars and compressed-air hybrids. Google MDI if you haven’t already. Cheaper than electric. Good range. Less hazardous materials involved in manufacturing and scrapping them later.

  4. HonestAbe says:

    Christ!! I wish someone had approached me before agreeing to this.
    I could have talked them down to $685,000,000!

    Where do these numbers come from? Could I get a copy of the accounting that was done to come up with these figures?

  5. Misanthropic Scott says:

    HonestAbe,

    Feel free to try to dig the number out of the original source for such information, the Congressional Budget Office. I tried and then realized I was looking at the total military budget for the year.

  6. HonestAbe says:

    Interesting, but the numbers don’t come close to $720M a day based on that document. Maybe there’s another document somewhere, or perhaps someone is obtaining these figures from someone’s lower orifice?

    Hey, I’m against the Iraq war, but a video that doesn’t cite sources is crap — no matter how pretty it might be.

    How can you be so trusting of this sort of video? And you call yourself Misanthropic! For shaaaaaaaame!

  7. Cooter says:

    >>Ron Paul’s “freedom to starve” mentality<>nor am I thrilled with his willingness to impose his religious beliefs on others with respect to abortion.<>Personally, I’d like to see a lot of the money go to renewable energy<>I’d also like to see a good portion of it go to national health care which would save this country…<<

    Yeah, let the FDA run it, or any of the current government agencies that can be trusted to do a good job. Oh wait, there are none.

  8. Cooter says:

    Let’s try this again…

    —Ron Paul’s “freedom to starve” mentality—

    You must be writing for the democrats.

    —nor am I thrilled with his willingness to impose his religious beliefs on others with respect to abortion.—

    I’ve been following RP for months and have never heard him impose his religious or anti-abortion beliefs. When asked, he typically says the states should settle the matter. Not a great answer but not a bad one either. Being pro-choice I usually don’t respect any “man” who is anti-abortion. However, Dr. RP has delivered over 3000 babies so I’ll give it to him that he has a been more perpestive than the average joe.

    —Personally, I’d like to see a lot of the money go to renewable energy—

    Like what? Name one that doesn’t have a con involved.

    —I’d also like to see a good portion of it go to national health care which would save this country…—

    Yeah, let the FDA run it, or any of the current government agencies that can trusted to do a good job. Oh wait, there are none. You can move to Norway if you like!

  9. Misanthropic Scott says:

    HonestAbe,

    It’s a blog. This is not a peer reviewed source of information. I often do try to check my facts fairly carefully. In this case, however, I merely presented what I felt was interesting information. Imagine that the video is off by even a complete order of magnitude and its ONLY $72,000,000 per day. Could you find a better use for the money? I think you’re paying too much attention to the particular number and not enough to the concept of how you want your tax dollars spent.

  10. Misanthropic Scott says:

    Cooter (part 1),

    Yeah, let the FDA run it, or any of the current government agencies that can be trusted to do a good job. Oh wait, there are none.

    Perhaps there are none that are qualified. However, you must also remember that corporations are legally bound, yes by law, to maximize shareholder profit. When these corporations are health insurance companies, this translates literally to deliberately NOT providing health care. That is how they maximize profit. They have no choice. The directors could literally sue any executive that attempted to provide good coverage.

    So, would you rather have an incompetent organization whose charter at least states that their job is to provide health care or a competent organization whose charter says they must not?

  11. Misanthropic Scott says:

    Cooter (part 2),

    You must be writing for the democrats.

    Actually, I got the phrase from Robert Heinlein, a man who very definitely promoted the views of libertarianism even if he predated the widespread use of the term.

    As for writing for the democraps, nope. Nor do I write for the repugnicans. I’m a liberal and proud of it.

    Check your dictionary:

    The opposite of liberal is stingy.
    The opposite of conservative is progressive.

    Note the deliberate use of the lower case. I’m talking about the words, not the parties.

    From Ron Paul’s own official website on the subject of liberty:

    The right of an innocent, unborn child to life is at the heart of the American ideals of liberty. My professional and legislative record demonstrates my strong commitment to this pro-life principle.

    —Personally, I’d like to see a lot of the money go to renewable energy—

    Like what? Name one that doesn’t have a con involved.

    Nothing has zero impact. Wind, solar, tidal, and geothermal all have smaller impacts than any fossil fuel or nuclear plant. Of these, old forms of solar cost more than nuclear; the rest are all cheaper, including concentrated solar. lastly, all fossil fuel technologies are improperly accounted for because they do not include the costs of global warming in terms of reduction of food, displaced people, decreased health from pollution, and many other costs.

  12. HonestAbe says:

    So you “merely presented what [you] felt was interesting information.” Information such as this is only as interesting as the creativity of the lie.

    I’m all for spending money better, but I wouldn’t try to make a point by posting a video by someone who is either incredibly devious or simply doesn’t know how to use a calculator.

  13. Misanthropic Scott says:

    HonestAbe,

    Then I guess you’re a better person than I am. And, also less able to extract real information from a real world full of uncertainty. BTW, if you claim that the number is invalid, isn’t it actually your responsibility to find a source and quote the correct number?

  14. MARN says:

    Have either of you tried to get a bill past in your state for anything….

    Yes I have, state of minnesota, stray voltage and ground current, 175,000 dollars to look into a new area. Power companies got their hands into controlling it…guess what they wasted 175,000 dollars in a blick of an eye, and no one saw it being spent….it was a waste of time……….and taught us dairy farmers who has the control…I think they added another 50,000 to that number tooo

    We worked with democrats and republicans and independents in the state, they all tried but got burnt up

    no I do not want to argue ground currents……….just that they spend billions when we budget what for living……….it is scarey

    no additional info required, just who are you voting for????one word answer

    scott you remind me of my brother, ted holdt on the internet……….he has a car that runs on used oil from restaurants………….some people do things other don’t

    marn

  15. HonestAbe says:

    Excuse me — my responsibility?? I’m not trying to prove anything here by posting misinformation.

    And this isn’t about who is a better person. I’m sorry and a bit disappointed that you feel that way.

  16. Misanthropic Scott says:

    HonestAbe,

    OK, but you have not proven that it is misinformation. So, perhaps the info still stands until you prove it incorrect. I posted a link to the full military budget. Perhaps if you’re so interested in exact numbers, which I am not, then you will prove your own ability to use a calculator and come up with the right number.

    I personally found this more interesting conceptually and as a visualization of other uses for the money we are currently spending on a war for oil. I personally am more interested in stopping the war for oil since oil is not the answer to our problems anyway. In fact, given that oil is a major cause of our problems, I wouldn’t want to spend one dollar a day on a war for it.

  17. HonestAbe says:

    It’s not my place to prove anything. You provided the link to the military budget and the number I came up with was dramatically less than the one this video advertises. I’m not an accountant, but something is very wrong with the $720m figure in this video.

    While I agree with the idea behind the video, exaggeration should not be used to make a point. The truth is damaging enough – why exaggerate?

  18. Misanthropic Scott says:

    HonestAbe,

    Just remember that it is not always a simple calculation. Some Nobel Prize winning economists came up with a range of 1.8-2.4 trillion dollars spent so far on the Iraq war. There are a lot of costs not directly paid out of the military budget. So, if you claim this is an exaggeration, and really I have no idea either way, you should provide some sources that show your lower numbers. It is actually your place, if you want to make a point more effectively, to show why you believe these numbers to be incorrect instead of just asserting that they are or that “something is very wrong with the $720m figure”. That is a claim. Where does it come from?

    Again, I am not vouching for this number. The actual value is less important to me than the point made. But, you are very hung up on exact figures and then state your own opinion in such a vague way with nothing to back it up. That seems very strange and a tad hypocritical to me. Personally, I don’t believe we can get true exact figures for such a number. But, since you do, please provide the number with a source you respect.

    If I were to tally the costs, I’d probably come up with a much higher number that would value the human lives lost (insurance companies put dollar values on human life all the time), the cost of additional physical and mental health care to the veterans and Iraqi soldiers and civilians, the damage to the environment, he effects of the specific portion of the global warming caused by this warfaring, possibly even attempt to put a value on our inability to deal with Iran due to our overextending of ourselves in Iraq. The last bit would likely be the hardest.

Leave a Reply

