LipoBlow ™

There are approximately 1.2 billion people in the world that are either chronically hungry or starving. There are also approximately 1.2 billion people in the world that are either overweight or obese. This odd coincidence led me to a bizarre conclusion.

(I do not remember the exact source of my numbers. It was probably Plan B 2.o or Collapse, but could have been some other source. If you have more accurate figures, please feel free to post them. It will not be likely to change the point of this post, however.)

So, here is my idea, in case you didn’t guess it from the title. We can liposuck the fat out of the overweight and obese people of the world and either LipoBlow ™ the fat subcutaneously into the bodies of the starving masses or mix it with grains into nice high calorie LardAss ™ cakes to be shipped to the hungry and starving people of the world.

This could dramatically improve the health of the world’s population by simultaneously reducing obesity and starvation. Of course, human fat would not provide many of the other nutrients required by the starving people. But, when one is starving, even empty calories are a good thing.

Is this just the sick humor of a misanthrope making a statement about the state of the world or a workable solution? Which would be more appealing or less appalling, LipoBlow ™ or LardAss ™ cakes?

(The inclusion of humor in both the tags and the categories for this post probably gives me away.)

3 Responses to LipoBlow ™

  1. HonestAbe says:

    *cough* *cough* Soylent Green *cough* *cough*

    ‘scuse me!

  2. BubbaRay says:

    I can’t stop laughing — not at you, with you. This is certainly a unique idea. I don’t know about LipoBlow(tm) but you might as well not have stopped there. Cannibalism comes to mind. All that food planted 6 feet under. I know it sounds gross, but Robert Heinlein had some crazy ideas about religion and men from Mars in perhaps his greatest work, “Stranger In A Strange Land.”

    Any comments on that book greatly appreciated. Although it sounds like it may be off topic, just the religious aspects alone should be enough to get things going.

    Thanks for the great article and the smile!!

    BR

  3. Misanthropic Scott says:

    Yes. I read Stranger in my teens. Great book!! Perhaps that was floating through my brain at some level when I wrote this post. I actually read a lot of Heinlein in my younger days. Now I read more science and less fiction. I learned a lot from the man though, particularly through the Jubal Harshaw/Lazarus Long/(whatever the name was of the grandmother in The Rolling Stones)/whatever other cantankerous old coot he had in each story.

    However, he never did convert me to a Libertarian. The term may not have existed then or simply not have been in common usage. However, Heinlein most certainly was one. And, he summed up the core principles of Libertarianism quite nicely in his phrase “freedom to starve”. I’m more liberal than that, personally. But, at least I can respect the Libertarian mindset even though I disagree with it.

    I have trouble coming up with anything but scorn and disdain for the current republican platform, which has nothing to do with the old principles on which that party was founded. Come to think of it, nor does the current democratic platform resemble the old principles of that party.

Leave a Reply

