All Suggestions Appreciated

I do not plan to learn PHP to program this site. However, if you know wordpress better than I do, i.e. at all, please feel free to make suggestions for improvement of this site.

15 Responses to All Suggestions Appreciated

  1. BubbaRay says:

    Scott, if you like, drop me an email (you can see my address). I don’t know how much help I can be, but I’ll give it a shot!

    BubbaRay

  2. BubbaRay says:

    One other thought, somehow you’re going to have to put up a TOC. Maybe I just don’t know how to access it. Thanks,

    BubbaRay

  3. Misanthropic Scott says:

    I hope this new presentation addresses the TOC issue. Thanks for the suggestion.

  4. BubbaRay says:

    Although I like the new header, the white print on the background doesn’t provide enough contrast for me to easily read it. Maybe it’s my monitor. How about Blue or Navy?

    Also, a “contact me” email account would be helpful for comments like these that don’t need to take up blog space. There’s on comment section that seems to have turned “all bold.” That’s called the “Uncle Dave make everything bold” mishap! Apparently due to using (b/) instead of (/b). WooHoo!

  5. Misanthropic Scott says:

    Hi BubbaRay,

    I know the header isn’t really readable. Perhaps I should just turn off the text on it. It doesn’t say anything not already on the main page. Without the text though, it’s not obvious that you can click on it to get to the main page. I don’t want dark text ruining the photo. Perhaps I’ll play with other colors.

    For email, I don’t see a way to do that on this blog, short of just posting my email address, which is, IMHO, a Bad Idea. That was why I set up the Just say Hi thread.

    I also don’t see the everything bold issue you’re talking about.

    Lastly, I tried sending you several emails. Have you received them? You might want to check your spam bucket. They may be from a username you don’t recognize. Try using the search box on yahoo mail and search for scott. That should get me if they’re in your spam bucket.

  6. BubbaRay says:

    I agree, a darker color would interfere with that great photo. And feel free to get rid of this comment string. I finally got your mail, and replied.

  7. BubbaRay says:

    How about a “search” feature? Isn’t there a wordpress plug-in for that? I really like the new format — looks great!

  8. BubbaRay says:

    Another suggestion — is there documentation for posting small photos, links, allowed html code, etc? It would be cool if links posted by commenters opened in a new Firefox tab.

  9. Misanthropic Scott says:

    BubbaRay, if you have a wheel mouse, try clicking on any link by clicking the wheel. That should open the link in a new tab. Apple-click works on a mac. On a PC, right click should give a menu including open in new tab or open in new window.

    For photos, I have that option for my posts, but not for comments. Perhaps just using the word for a link to something like flicker will do. I’m not sure whether will work. It’s probably worth a try. Just make sure that the URL goes all the way to the image, i.e. ends in GIF or JPG or some such.

    Sorry I haven’t seen a way to give access to the same editor I use to enter the post in the first place, which would be really nice.

  10. Kris says:

    I plan to read your blog via its feed, but let me suggest that it might be a good idea to put put the most recent post on the main page instead of burying everything in the archives and leaving “The Misanthropic Principle” post on the main page.

  11. Misanthropic Scott says:

    Kris,

    Done. Ack. Thanks for stopping by. Hope to “see you” around again.

  12. BubbaRay says:

    How about expanding the “latest comments” box from 4 to maybe 8 or 10?

  13. Misanthropic Scott says:

    BubbaRay, I honestly didn’t realize I could change that. Thanks!!

  14. bobbo says:

    I really like on “responsive” websites when you can “nest” or unnest the comment thread. Slate does it really well and Huffington just started doing it. I don’t like Huffington as they actively moderate their posts which means there is a delay between writing and the posting which means real time conversations never take place.==too much the same on Dvorak.

    Also, it would be nice if you could quickly edit your own post –especially before anyone else responds to it? Helps avoid wrong meaning and multiple entries.

    Live long and prosper.

  15. Misanthropic Scott says:

    bobbo,

    Great suggestions. If you know how to get wordpress to do that, I’m all for it. I just searched again and can’t find a way without learning to code my own blog. Quick edit and reply would both be great. I just don’t see options for it on wordpress. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

