5 Million People Per Year Die of Nothing (More Accurately, Doing Nothing)

I just felt the need to spread the word … as I sit on my sofa … inactively killing myself.

The best medicine: No pill provides the amazing health benefits that exercise does

12 Responses to 5 Million People Per Year Die of Nothing (More Accurately, Doing Nothing)

  1. ECA says:

    how many jobs out there, esp for low level workers, can keep you moving..
    ALSO, those jobs that DO keep you moving, you are Either running around 12-16 miles in 8 hours, or Abusing your body excessively..
    we work 10 times harder on our bodies NOW DAYS then even back with hunter gatherers..
    Rather then working hard a day or 2 at a time and resting, we work ourselves BADLY..
    SITTING/STANDING in 1 place ALL day long isnt a good thing, and never was.. Sitting infront of your computer 8=16 hours per day, does NOT help your body.

    Your body needs abit of bumps and bruises, work out, every few days..AT THE LEAST.. Hurting yourself repeatedly, ISNT good either..
    AND the WORST thing for your body…CONCRETE/ASPHALT/HARD SURFACES..it destroys your feet/ankles/knees/hips/ and back. GET those NICE SHOES..and not the SUPPER SOFT ONES..

  2. Good points, except the one about the shoes. Please understand that I don’t claim to know that much about this and do not necessarily endorse this opinion. However, this is a really good case for barefoot running, or, if not barefoot, in those shoes that have toes and very little cushioning. Apparently it makes you run better. Or, that’s the claim from this evolutionary biologist and marathon runner.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/23/science/23conversation.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

  3. ECA says:

    My comment was mostly aimed at HARD surfaces..they will destroy your joints. and REALLY what you need is protection in the heel.
    But people ALSO buy the WRONG shoes. your feet should MOVE inside the shoe..NOT be tied up to tight they cant do anything. Unless you are racing or Running hard, there should be abit of air around your feet.

  4. Agreed. But, this biologist is claiming that if you have no shoes on, or shoes without cushioning, you run the way we evolved to run. Your heals don’t hit the floor that way. You land on the balls of your feet.

  5. ECA says:

    You are correct..
    They TAUGHT me how to walk and run when I was younger…LOTS of surgery… and its ALL WRONG..

    HEEL-TOE walking hurts your joints..
    AND there is a type of running thats better then running on toes..
    there are a few styles that work MUCH BETTER..

  6. The Expulsion Of Gods says:

    Here’s something interesting.

    –In 2009, Steven Blair, an “exercise researcher” at the “University of South Carolina-Columbia,”–

    That’s indicative of a conservative screw-ball who’s opinion means absolute rubbish, Scott. I’ve no doubt that lots of Americans need exercise, but I’ve witnessed a relative of my own parish from cancer and had never smoked a day in his life. Further, there have been accounts of some that were very healthy, but have died of heart failure while sleeping or jogging. So please, do not give up my friend…you’re not over the hill yet.

  7. I’m not giving up. I do exercise regularly.

    As for that hill though, unless I’m planning to live to over a hundred or unless the hill is asymmetrical, I’m solidly over it.

    We talk about being middle aged at 60. Bullshit.

    Life expectancy in the U.S. at the moment is 76 for men and 81 for women. Middle age is 38 for men and 40.5 for women. Let’s not kid ourselves.

    When I crossed middle age, life expectancy for men was 73. So, I crested the hill at 36.5 years. I’m 50 now. I’ve got my skis on and am enjoying the ride. But, make no mistake, it is downhill.

    During a trip to Africa for my 50th, for which I really should write a post, I not only stared a leopard in the face at 6 feet away while lying in bed outdoors in the middle of the night, I also, without a hint of irony, had my first bathtub slip and fall injury. I probably should have gotten stitches, but went with butterfly bandages instead of trusting a Nambian hospital (which turned out to be quite good according to a more seriously injured person on the trip).

  8. The Expulsion Of Gods says:

    –I just felt the need to spread the word…as I sit on my sofa…inactively killing myself.–

    I was just trying to give a little sentiment to show that I care. Hmmmm…perhaps that was my mistake? I didn’t know you’d take it as a pissing contest. Testy, testy.

    Note to self;
    Never give any sentiment about, Scott’s, age again.

    There, feel better now?

  9. Sorry EOG,

    This was just my misinterpretation of your post. Thank you for your concern. I apologize for my reaction. I certainly never meant to start a pissing contest. But, as a diabetic, all I need to do is take too little insulin … I win. :)

    But, I never really felt bad in the first place, so don’t feel better or worse now.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

