Kindergartener Suspended For Being An Atheist

Of course, the first day of suspension was for standing up to the bully. Both children got suspended. But, why did only the atheist get the lecture about respecting others? Why did only the atheist get an extra day of suspension? Wouldn’t it have been nice if the principal explained to the Jesus freak preaching child that preaching in school is wrong? Wouldn’t it have been nice if the principal had explained a bit about respecting the choice not to believe? Oh well. At least mom got it right.

Child Gets Suspended For Being An Atheist

4 Responses to Kindergartener Suspended For Being An Atheist

  1. Rodnikov Magilovich says:

    Freedom of Religion logically requires that the corollary Freedom from Religion be included! Most Americans fail to understand this logic! It is an emotional illogical response!

  2. Such an obvious truth. It’s amazing how man people miss that.

    It seems most religious Americans understand this perfectly well as soon as some other religious sect comes knocking on their door. They just seem to forget about it when they’re on the other side of the door. Convenient memory.

    Perhaps if I ever experience being proselytized at again, I’ll try responding by proselytizing for Scientology or Wicca or whatever I suspect may be farthest from the religion being preached at me but still within the realm of religion.

    Or, I could just start talking about the bits of the babble most people choose to ignore. e.g. Explain to me again why Lot was worthy of salvation from the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah.

    Anyway, the depressing bit is the need to have defense mechanisms in reserve for such times. I’m lucky to live in an area where proselytizing is not that common.

  3. The Expulsion Of Gods says:

    Oh, shit. Now that takes me back to a time in my youth when others, as well as myself would bully those that didn’t share our faith.

    We were thought by the clergy, friends, and some family members to not show respect towards others that were – at least to them – ignirorant, and said to be our enemies.
    I only did what I was told to do because I wanted to be apart of the group in an effort to be excepted, but I’d always felt as the lowest of any sub-human there ever was.

    As I could no longer stand what I had become in my actions towards others, this is when I had to reassess myself, and my faith.
    And it was at this time in my lone bible studies that I began to see the truth of how others, and myself, were all wrong!
    While some have forgiven me for my own recklessness and treacherous behavior for which I’m truly thankful — still there
    are others that will never forgive me though…

    And it is my only wish, that before I leave this life, that they may find it within themselves to forgive me… please?

    I really didn’t know what I was doing, and beg for your forgiveness!

    I’m going for a while now…
    Because this just brings on to many bad memories.
    Troy

  4. Troy,

    I was beaten up in 6th grade, not for being an atheist at that time, but for being the wrong religion. OK, actually, I was a small kid who had never learned to fight. I think it was just one punch and I had a concussion.

    As someone who was on the other side, and who was beaten up by religion, so to speak, if that person came to me and said what you just said, yes I would forgive him.

    More importantly, some of us grow into very different people than the children from whence we came. Though we share some continuity of memory with the children we were, we may be completely different individuals as adults.

    I don’t know at what age your aggressions took place, but you can be comforted to think that even if those people do not forgive the child who was your earlier self, that may not reflect on the adult you are now.

    If you are still in contact with your victims, you could try again to explain, though I suspect it would help you more than your victims at this point. I doubt I’d really want an apology from the guy who called me a Jew bastard and knocked me out.

    Barring attempts at making amends, you should probably find a way to forgive yourself and move on.

    That’s just my opinion, of course.

    Scott

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

