Bailey’s, It’s What’s For Breakfast!

I’m not trying to turn my blog into a cookbook. Nor am I accepting money from the makers of Bailey’s Irish Cream for this endorsement, but only because they haven’t offered me any money. But, I played around a bit with recipes and had to share these.

Bailey’s Irish Cream Pancakes and Popovers.

If you already know how to make pancakes and popovers, all you need to do is replace half of the milk in the recipe with Bailey’s Irish Cream. It really is that simple. Don’t skimp on the Bailey’s. You want that taste to come through loud and clear, so to speak.

Presumably, any other Irish cream would work too. And, there may be better ones than Bailey’s. Though, I’ve neither looked all that hard nor found one I like better.

For pancakes, I would recommend following the recipe of whatever batter you buy but, as I said, replace half of the milk with Bailey’s. And, of course, they’re best with real maple syrup in prodigious quantities. (Diabetic? Don’t forget to hit the turbo button on your insulin pump.)

For popovers, the recipe I follow is the one that came on the box from the popover pan. I highly recommend a popover specific pan, not a muffin pan. The size and shape of popovers is part of what makes them popovers. A popover pan is deeper and is then filled only about 2/3 of the way, allowing plenty of space to rise.

So, the ingredients for the popovers are: (note: makes 6 in a proper popover pan, a good meal for 2 people)

3 eggs
1 cup of white flour (I’ve tried whole wheat. It won’t rise. :( )
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream
2 teaspoons of oil
1/2 teaspoon of sugar

If you plan to make coffee and grind your own beans, grind them now. See noise warning below.

Preheat the oven and pan to 450 degrees F.

Dump everything but the eggshells and popover pan into a blender and blend on high. (Clearly, I’ve never written a cookbook.) You’ll probably need to take a spoon to scrape the lumps off the side of the blender and blend again.

When the pan and oven are hot, take out the pan, leaving the oven on 450. I like to spray a little oil (using an oil like Pam) into the pan, even though it is non-stick and the instructions do not say to do so.

Pour the batter from the blender into the popover pan, filling each popover bucket, or whatever you call it, about 2/3 of the way.

Put the pan back into the oven; turn the temp down to 425 degrees F; set a timer for 20 minutes.

DO NOT MAKE LOUD NOISES! A loud noise could cause the popovers to collapse. This is why you already ground your coffee beans.

When the timer beeps, the beeping of a microwave timer seems not to harm the popovers, turn down the temperature on the oven to 350 degrees F. Reset the timer for another 20 minutes.

When the timer beeps now, you’re done. (Now you can pop the cork on the Champagne for the mimosas.)

Be careful of steam burns as you pull them open and put in your favorite fillings bite by luscious bite. Next time I make them, I will probably make either 1/3 or 2/3 of the popovers with Bailey’s and the rest without. This will allow me to have 2 or 4 savory popovers and 2 or 4 sweet popovers depending on whether I want more sweet or more savory. Savory fillings would probably not go well with the Bailey’s popovers. I expect that if I make the savory batter first and move it from the blender to some other container while the pan is heating, I can make the rest without even needing to clean the blender in between.

I was surprised that the Bailey’s popovers rose even more than usual and came out firmer and, IMHO, slightly better consistency than the plain ones usually do. And, I still love the plain ones too.

Anyway, that’s it for my cooking post. I would not expect more recipes on this site.

Note that when I say it was shockingly easy to simply replace half the milk with Bailey’s that I am betting that this would work for almost anything with a significant amount of milk, or at least anything someone might want to have the flavor of Bailey’s. French toast can also be made with Bailey’s, as evidenced by me once having seen it on a menu. However, the much smaller amount of milk might dictate replacing all of the milk with Bailey’s rather than just half.

To the folks who make delicious Bailey’s Irish Cream, if you feel that this post has increased your sales, feel free to share the profits with me.

19 Responses to Bailey’s, It’s What’s For Breakfast!

  1. charlotte says:

    use some self raising flour… i watched jamie oliver the day and even though it was different flavoured pancake he used 1 leveled mug of self raising plain flour and 1 leveled cup of whole milk, pinch of salt and one egg he done them in batches but as their american pancakes they thicken and rise and i do two big ones at a time and put blueberries in mine! but this baileys one looks yummy!

    • I’ve never made pancakes truly from scratch. I always start with pancake mix. What would the ingredients be with self-rising flour?

      • bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

        Just add egg and water/milk depending on whats in your self rising flour==or try them anyway. Sometimes add oil as well according to taste. Bisquick has “dried” oil in it already. I’ve been using egg yolks in my ice cream and been putting just two egg whites into my pancake mix and after a few months of that, I prefer it now. Makes the mix a bit lighter.

  2. bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

    I saw this subject in the side bar and was just going to respond that I make my own Baileys. Its a compromise between 2-3 recipes easily found on the Web.

    I make my own pancake/waffle mix from scratch. Its Monster Good:

    To comfortably fill a Five Pound Container, use the following:

    4 C Buckwheat
    2 C Flour (Whole Wheat or Bread)
    2 C Oat Flour
    2 C Cornmeal
    1.3 C Dry Milk
    1 C Flax Meal
    1 C Protein Powder
    5/8 C Sugar
    1/3 – 1/2 C Baking Powder
    2 TBS Salt

    A waffle then on my machine uses 1/2 cup mix, one egg, teaspoon of oil, water to consistency you like==the amount of water will change the “crust” of the waffle. Pancakes use the same mix, egg, and just a bit more water or even milk. Waffles take less water because they are covered by the lid.

    I can have a waffle or pancake anytime I want in about 10 minutes. Same with a cake or brownie. I have those pre-mixed from scratch as well.

    To bad I have to give up Sugar, Wheat, Fat, and meat if I don’t want a heart attack. My recipes for: Salad—just aren’t that interesting.

    • bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

      ……..and I still can’t even “say”: cheese.

    • Thanks for sharing. That sounds good. I’d probably reduce or remove the sugar and remove the dry milk. I don’t mind adding milk when the time comes to mixing the batter. Besides, it’s much easier to replace half the milk with bailey’s than half the dry milk that’s already mixed in. No?

      • bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

        Good comment. The Sugar is low to start with but why use it at all? Sugar in cooking does more than add sweetness. It browns and affects “taste” otherwise. Same with Oil. Same with Milk (milk has fat and sugar too). I used dry non fat milk so as to avoid one more step AND having to have milk on hand. I have added milk to the dry milk without ill effect. As my Mom used to say: Taste is all in your mouth.

        I do play with the ratios of various elements. Sometimes, just to make a variation in the taste like adding General Purpose Flour (with baking soda) which will make the waffle/pancake lighter but less nutty . Its almost like beer: “all good.” So–I’ll use 1/4 cup scoop of the mix and then 1/4 cup of some other ingredient. Infinite variables. Reminds me, I wanted to do that by adding ground walnuts and see what that would do.

        I actually started adding oil ((which makes the item more tender and moist)) to “use up” used oil from the deep fat fryer. Yea–eat it rather than throw it out?===Doesn’t make much sense, increases the calories and I can’t really taste any difference.

        Main variable to my meal: what topping I use. Usually a canned fruit, usually yellow peaches. Home made whipped cream. Home made syrups with half the sugar and various additives.

        Sometimes I will “overload” the waffles with ham dices or mushrooms or onions or cheese just to get that change as well.

        I much prefer waffles and eat those 10 to One over pancakes. But I like “my” pancakes too.

        Sante.

      • bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

        Note–when I run out of bread and don’t feel like baking a loaf, I will make a plain waffle and use it. Thinking about doing the same with making my own flour tortillas. Its just convenient with the waffle mix already there and not having to “form” the tortilla. 95% just habit patterns though.

      • You’re more of a chef than I. I’ll probably stick to organic pancake mix rather than making my own.

        But, you even make your own syrup? What flavors?

        I just stick with organic grade B maple syrup (real, not artificial, of course). Grade B is a bit darker and has a stronger flavor, IMHO. The brand we usually buy specifies that it is formaldehyde free. Do you know if formaldehyde is commonly used in processing real maple syrup? Or, might they just as easily, truthfully, and ridiculously claim to be free of PCBs and cyanide as well?

        I haven’t googled. I like the taste. It’s not more expensive than other organic pure maple syrups.

        Oh, I do use other toppings as well on occasion, mostly organic jams.

  3. bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

    http://www.rd.com/slideshows/9-easy-ways-to-make-pancakes-more-delicious/#slideshow=slide11

    I got at least 3 ideas.

    • Some interesting ideas. Some silly ones too. Color != taste. And, yes, I love both blueberry and chocolate chip pancakes. Sometimes, both in each pancake. I add the chips and/or blueberries to the pancakes while on the pan to be able to make some each way. Also, with blueberries, pour a bit more batter over the berries after putting them in the pancake to help keep them from exploding all over the pan.

  4. bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

    I like the idea of making those “lacy” pancakes. Do it once or twice then its done, but might be a “fun” garnish or decoration…spell sentiments to put on a cake and so forth?

    Just playing around is how I fell into making my own syrup–basically when I learned to make my own caramel candy. Once you have your cast iron pan all heated up–why not make$3.00 -$12 worth of syrup for 20 cents?

    One big advantage–use half the sugar for reduced calories and get the thickness/flow back by adding guar gum. I make three basic syrups each time and fill up a two cup catchup bottle for each one:

    1. Basic–just allow the sugar to caramelize to get that nice burned almost maple syrup or molasses flavor all on it own? Maybe its just straight up caramel flavor?==anyway this simpliest one is about my favorite. To this as the mood strikes, I will add any number of fruit purees. Most often BlackBerries I pick in the back yard. But it can be “anything.”

    2. Honey Syrup. Because my friend the Bee Keeper gives me Honey that I need to use up. About a 50/50 mix.

    3. Maple Syrup. I use a flavored extract to add to the Basic. I prefer this to actual premium Maple Syrup. Shows what we get used to.

    Once you do any cooking from scratch at all, you realize how closely related all food really is. From there, again–how hard is it to save $$$ by taking plain flour and adding baking powder to it?

    Dead Simple.

  5. bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

    The brand we usually buy specifies that it is formaldehyde free. Do you know if formaldehyde is commonly used in processing real maple syrup? /// I would think not. Its just boiled down sap? Don’t recall reading about that. Must be a break down component of the distilling process?

    I started cooking more as a discovered interest/hobby. The idea it saves money doesn’t hurt but the constant motivation is how interesting and challenging it is. What am I doing and why? It therefore is a very secondary value that I “know” what I am eating and avoid several levels of “processing.”

    I word associate formaldehyde as a break down product of anything with aspartame in it?—Allegedly? Then–is the harm from formaldehyde more or less than that of sugar? Sugar==which like most white food IS A POISON. But it does taste good! (smile!)

  6. I googled. Formaldehyde has not been used in the processing of maple syrup for many years, at least 20. It is illegal. No one does it. The farms are subject to random search without notice. The practice once was to put some formaldehyde or alcohol in the hole in the tree to keep the tree from healing. No one does this anymore.

  7. bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

    Thats an interesting tidbit raising multiple followup questions I’ll let lie as its been banned and I have issue with keeping known carcinogens out of our bodies.

    I’m just about ready to have “Syrup Day” as I have one more dose to go. I make the 3 syrups and require myself to use all three up before making any more. The Basic always goes first. This will also be the second time I make my own Chocolate Syrup. That has almost been used up and I don’t want to run out of it. Using the hot water base and cocoa, it is a good final way to get the sugar residue out of the syrup cast iron pan. Using the chocolate syrup imparts a deeper flavor to many recipes that call for “chocolate.” Also very nice to make a cup of chocolatk mile every several weeks when that taste desire arises.

    I’m finding tortillas a bit hard to master. Hard to roll them out as thin as the store bought ones. Only takes a few minutes to do and the mistakes are still edible. Nice to make them only as needed so the freezer isn’t filled with them. Makes me think that making crepes instead would be just as good. Easier to make. Only a slightly different taste to them.

    Cooking is a fun hobby. Doesn’t bother anyone else…. etc.

    • bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

      Speaking of tidbits, and NOT to be a champion of sugar which I am trying to eliminate from my diet–it also makes baked items more tender and more moist. Good to remember. I do make many baked items with so little sugar and no added oil that many food items are coming out tasting about the same and not as good as the original so I am adding small amounts back into the food. Should be a happy compromise in there somewhere.

      Why am I resisting become a food fanatic?……… Probably the hypocrisy of eating healthy while drinking beer which I have no plans at all in giving up???……Pro’s and Con’s.

      ……..yeah…..why don’t I pull the trigger and go vegan? I should. You should. We all “should.”

  8. bobbo,

    You’re way more into cooking than I am.

    As for going vegan, were I to do that, I would need to go “whole hog”, so to speak, and become a fruitarian (frugivore?).

    After all, why should we be willing to kill plants but not animals? Fruit, including tomatoes, cucumbers, and anything else with a seed, is a symbiotic relationship.

    For my part, I could never get enough food this way.

    So, I do the best I can. I try to eat sustainable foods. I try to eat food that has not been tortured (e.g. veal, CAFO raised animals, etc.). I eat organic as much as possible, though it’s usually not possible in restaurants.

    And, of course, for my line, the problem stops with me. The fuck stops here! (Well, sort of.) I have no kids. So, even if everything I do is unsustainable, which a lot of it is, it only needs to be sustained for my lifetime. My children are safely locked away behind my severed, tied, and cauterized vasa deferentia.

    So, I do the best I can in my lifetime and have not contributed to the next lifetime worth of homo sapiens.

    • bobbo, the pragmatic existential evangelical anti-theist says:

      I’m not totally sure but I think you can’t do totally fruit but you can do totally vegetable. Combining the two, fruit almost becomes the “desert course” for a meal.

      It would take work and caution but of course you can get all the food/calories/nutrition you need from a vegan diet. You even have the time especially as you learn the regime.

      Years ago I decided to eat more healthily after reading Diet for a Small Planet and then I choose the Zone Diet to follow. I did this as I recognized that following it would teach me about the foods I was theretofore just randomly eating as my taste buds directed. That an exercise did certainly work as enough exercise with any Diet will. It was fun though. Lasted about 6 months before the regimentation wore off. Did shift my tastes more towards the vegan. Luckily I’ve never had a sweet tooth and lucked into a habit pattern of avoiding processed foods by and large. NOW–when I try to consciously take it a few steps further, I have little interest and my HOBBY of wanting to bake and deep fat fry is actually pushing me in the opposite direction.

      Fun to try and read about health/food/nutrition. I haven’t found a single subject on which there is not authority for every opposite opinion you might wish to adopt. In the end, the only safe diet is whatever exercise is required to balance the calories. I’m only xx pounds overweight now, so I know thats true.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

