E. Pluribus Unum

July 13, 2008

If you care about separation of church and state, though the number of people who do appears to be shrinking, please sign this petition to restore our nation’s motto and to remove the McCarthy era addition to the pledge of allegiance.

From the petition text:

Congress undermined American unity in 1954 when it added “Under God” to our Pledge of Allegiance and again in 1956 when it replaced our 175 year old national motto, E Pluribus Unum (“Out Of Many, One”), with “In God We Trust”, thus demoting to an implied outsider status the agnostics, atheists, deists, polytheists and other citizens who do not ascribe to this theology. Ideological contention is a necessary and desired result of the freedoms that are the real source of our unity and strength. These laws, by claiming that our unity rests on disregarding the reality of such sincere individual disagreement, are self-defeating.

E. Pluribus Unum — Out Of Many, One

Thanks to Overcaffeinated for the tip.

For those who wish to go beyond this one petition, consider checking out the Freedom From Religion Foundation.


Math Class: I Like The Way You Think

July 13, 2008

Teacher: Three crows are sitting on a wire. A farmer comes out and shoots one. How many are left?
Johnny raises his hand.
Teacher: Johnny.
Johnny: Zero.
Teacher: No Johnny. That’s incorrect. Do you want to try again?
Johnny (thinks a bit longer): Zero.
Teacher: No Johnny. That’s incorrect. Would you tell me how you came up with that?
Johnny: Well, the farmer shot one crow. The other two flew away.
Teacher: That’s not the correct answer. But, I like the way you think.

Johnny: OK. I answered your question. You answer mine. Three women are sitting on a bench eating ice cream. One is licking. One is sucking. One is biting. Which one is married?
Teacher (turns red. Doesn’t anwer.)
Johnny: Come on. I answered your question. Answer mine. Three women are sitting on a bench eating ice cream. One is licking. One is sucking. One is biting. Which one is married?
Teacher (embarrassed): I guess the one who’s sucking.
Johnny: No. The one with the wedding ring. But, I like the way you think.


Horus vs. Jesus

July 13, 2008

This thread is now replaced by a new thread A More Rigorous Take on the Jesus Myth. Please use this thread for all new discussion on this topic.

ALERT ALERT ALERT!!! THIS POST IS FALSE!!! I apologize for spreading incorrect information. I believed it to be true when I posted it. Zarove below has proven me incorrect. I apologize for being taken in by an article that actually came up from google scholar. Looking at the footnotes of my “peer reviewed” article should have clued me in. I did not read that carefully. I will not further spread this myth.

Understand that I still do not believe either the Horus myth or the Jesus myth. However, I now also know that it is a myth that the two myths are the same.

Thank you Zarove for setting me straight.

Here for posterity is my original post:

In the spirit of the Bush-McCain Challenge, which shows that most people cannot tell the difference between Bush and McCain, I ask weather you can tell the difference between Horus and Jesus. So, guess which one was:

  1. Born of a virgin?
  2. Baptized at age 30?
  3. Had 12 disciples?
  4. Was crucified?
  5. Was resurrected 3 days later
  6. Was associated with the astrological sign Pisces, the fish?
  7. Was known as The Lamb of God?

Read the rest of this entry »


Climatologists Give Up the Ruse

July 13, 2008

It appears that it is finally time for climatologists to come clean. Unfortunately, this is not a report of the skeptics being magically right. Rather, climatologists are finally starting to state that, yes indeed, the extreme weather we’ve been seeing for years really is the direct result of climate change.

Could this be just the liberal media? Well, perhaps, if you consider Newsweek to be a liberal rag. Otherwise, this report is likely legitimate. To me, the only thing surprising has been how long climatologists have been so cautious about finally saying this.

Global Warming Is a Cause of This Year’s Extreme Weather


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers