Blame God for the Drought!!

I’m just back from a driving trip around this god infested country (the U.S. if that isn’t obvious). While driving on I-95 in Georgia, I saw a church with a large sign outside saying, ‘Thank God for the rain.’ Georgia and much of the southeastern U.S. had been in a pretty severe drought until just before the start of our trip.

We were glad for the rain too as we were heading to the Okefenokee Swamp with the intent of paddling our canoe there. However, the idea of thanking a supreme being for rain after a drought, even if one were to believe in a supreme being, seemed exceedingly hypocritical.

How is thanking God for rain hypocritical?

Well, either God is responsible for rain or s/he isn’t.

It is just a guess on my part. However, I’m going to go out on a limb here and state that it is highly unlikely that any church in any region affected by the drought had a sign that said any variation on ‘Blame/Curse/Deride God for the drought.’ If anyone living in that region actually has seen such a sign on a church, please feel free to correct me. I’d love to hear about it.

A drought is a lack of rain. If God makes it rain, then s/he is also responsible when it fails to do so. Was God busy doing other stuff and forgot to make it rain for the many weeks before? Does anyone believe that when Georgians prayed, God reacted by saying something like, ‘Holy shit!! My bad folks. I forgot you needed rain. Thanks for the reminder. Here you go. Sorry about that, but I do have more than just the Virgo super cluster of galaxies to worry about. Sometimes, I just completely forget about the Milky Way altogether.’

My larger point is that people are forever thanking some deity for the good in their life while very few ever think to blame, curse, or even question that same deity for the bad in their lives. This is monumentally hypocritical. Either god is in control or not. I claim not, of course.

For those who believe in God, please at least consider that in your daily or weekly prayers, you might want to include cursing God for all of the following:

9/11/2001 (an obvious one to blame on God), Katrina, wildfires, earthquakes, the Iraq War, AIDS, global warming, and anything else you find to be imperfect in our tiny and insignificant little corner of the universe.

A last little tidbit that is seriously offensive and a true violation of the separation of church and state, just to throw some politics into the discussion, the Governor of Georgia actually told the people of his state to pray for the rain, yecch. Worse, this is apparently a quite common thing to do, and not only in this god infested country.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20071112/ap_on_re_us/southern_drought_3

Perhaps the religious among us might pray for an age of reason when people will stop killing each other over the correct way to worship God, recognize that we’re all the same and are not getting any help from above, and begin to solve our own problems. I doubt that would be any more hypocritical than thanking God for rain without blaming God for drought.

22 Responses to Blame God for the Drought!!

  1. lifespillingover says:

    Scott, as I read your post on blaming God for the drought, I became sad. I am a follower of Jesus and have a very close relationship with him. As I live each day in my relationship with him, there is a lot of joy and I become more aware every day of his blessings: the obvious ones and the much more unconventional ones. But just as in any relationship, everything is not always “a bed of roses”. And just as in any relationship where you truly love someone, when God chooses to do things that don’t make senses to me, or even that might be temporarily uncomfortable or seem unfair, I am in a committed relationship with him so would not have any desire to curse or deride him. More than judging him based soley on the experiences of my life, I have come to know his character – what makes him who he is.

    I don’t understand why he allows things like drought and suffering, so I won’t pretend to have some answer to all of that. But, if he is the higher power, our creator, than he has to have a lot better perspective on all that we see and feel and expereince. And since I know him, just a little bit, and he has proven his love to me, and also considering that he is the creator and I am his creation, I have no desire to curse him at all. Instead, I want to know him more and understand how and why his heart beats the way it does.

    What are your thoughts about this?

  2. lifespillingover says:

    I’m also curious – Why are you misanthropic?

  3. Misanthropic Scott says:

    lifespillingover,

    In response to your first point, my response would be that if there is no reason to deride or curse god for the drought, then there is also no reason to thank him for the rain. To claim to understand that which appears good but not that which appears bad is hypocritical. For me, I find beauty and joy in life without need for a controlling, domineering, and demanding god. I do not understand why an all-knowing and all-powerful being would need external validation anyway. Why ask for prayers? Why ask for thanks? Certainly, prayer could not change the mind of such a creature were s/he to exist.

    As for why I’m misanthropic, a lot can be gleaned from my other posts. In short though, I look at the death and destruction caused by our species and hate the result of our being here. I like some individuals and love a few. However, the net effect of our species has been the sixth mass extinction on this planet. I am sad not to be able to see any of mammoths, ground sloths, moas, flocks of passenger pigeons that filled the sky as clouds, saber toothed tigers, and many many others. The human caused mass extinction is already worse than the one that killed off the non-avian dinosaurs 65.3 million years ago, some already say it is already worse than the Permian-Triassic extinction 250 MYA, the prior record holder.

    As was the comet that hit the Earth 65.3 MYA, we are literally a catastrophe.

  4. lifespillingover says:

    Scott, I hear you on your first response to my questions. I don’t at all think that I have any part of God’s character figured out or mastered. He is completely “other” from what we are, so I don’t think that I’m being hypocritical at all. Now, I would agree with you if I said that I had God’s goodness and his reasons for being good to us all figured out, but either shrugged my shoulders at the difficulties in life, or pointed my finger at others, that would be hypocrisy. It really comes down to who is the center of the universe, who this is all really about, doesn’t it? If it is all about me, or us, but there is a God (how is that logically possible?), then he has a lot of explaining to do. But if we are not the point, but he is, than that changes everything, doesn’t it?

    Also, the longer I live, the more I’m finding that God does not leave us clueless about who he is or what he is about, or why he does what he does. If he is completely other than us, there is certainly going to be a lot about him that we are incapable of understanding. But he promises to disclose himself to anyone who will seek him with an open heart, and I have found this to be true over and over again.

    If God is in need of anything from us than he would cease to be God, wouldn’t he? What if the whole purpose of prayer is to allign us with him so that we can begin to see him and realize not only our desperate need of him, but that he has been waiting for us with forgiveness and love that, again, is beyond our capacity to comprehend?

    I’m eager to hear your thoughts…

  5. Misanthropic Scott says:

    lifespillingover,

    I haven’t seen any version of the Judeo-Christian-Islamic religion that has god waiting for us with forgiveness. I see rather texts that describe a thankfully non-existent creature hiding behind a bush waiting to yell gotcha and throw us to hell for eternity. Or, in the case of the Jewish flavor of the religion, to smite us right here and now.

    See an earlier post of mine for my opinion of the Jesus flavor of the religion especially about forgiveness, or lack thereof.

  6. lifespillingover says:

    Scott,

    It seems like you have a lot of stored up arguments against Jesus. You must have had some very unpleasant expereinces with people who claim Jesus. I am sorry for whatever those might have been. Scott, you seem like a very intelligent person, so I am sure that you know that when someone comes to a discussion with their mind already made up, there is no convincing them otherwise. I am not here to try to “make you convert” or to argue abstract points with you. My heart is broken for you, and it’s my hope that whether through my blog posts or through infinite other ways, you will see that God is. That he loves you with a love that you couid not ever get your mind around, and that he is pursuing you. He won’t stop either because his love is relentless.

    I’d love to respond to some of the other things you said in your last response, but for the moment, I’ll post my response.

  7. Misanthropic Scott says:

    lifespillingover,

    My problem with religion is less personal than you make it sound. I hate religion for the same reason I hate our species, the net effect. Religion has had a huge deleterious effect on humanity, as evidenced by the huge number of deleted humans. It is by definition sectarian. Thinking about what this means, it means that it divides humans into sects, Us and Them. Under all flavors of the Judeo-Christian-Islamic religion, it is always OK and even desirable to kill Them.

    I have no stronger distaste for Christianity than for Judaism or Islam. To me, they are all the same. Or, more accurately, we are all the same, as all humans are very closely related. Perhaps if we can get past the inherent divisivenesses of religion, we will lose one of the many reasons humans find for killing each other. This would be a far cry from creating world peace. However, religion is a huge obstacle to peace. I would like to do my part to attempt to remove it.

    As for god pursuing me, I certainly hope you are mistaken. Look at all the good he has done for his chosen people over the millennia. I do not want god pursuing me or blessing me. I just want him/her to leave me alone.

  8. lifespillingover says:

    Scott,

    I think I was just writing a post on my blog at the exact same time you were replying to me. I’m glad to tell you that God will not leave you alone. His love is not conditional, though there will eventually be justice one day. But even there, the amazing thing is that in his love, he has made for provision for his justice to be executed on Jesus instead, so you can have a relationship with him. I just have to tell you — his love is relentless. Of course you can choose to reject him consistently your whole life. That is a horror that I do not want to imagine.

    I think we have a little common ground: I have a problem with religion too. Religion is about humankind trying to figure out a way to get to God, and that doesn’t work, as history makes very clear. But God coming to us: that is entirely different, and there is nothing we can do to stop him from doing that. You can fight and ignore him your whole life; but how terribly sad when he is holding out complete forgiveness and incomparable love. Scott, I hope you will read the post I just put up on my blog, because it speaks a little bit to some of what you have said here. And as always, I am looking forward to future discussions.

  9. Misanthropic Scott says:

    lifespillingover,

    I can’t imagine what horror an unconditionally forgiving god could possibly impose on anyone. For there to be a horror that you don’t want to imagine, your god must not be all forgiving, but instead be conditionally forgiving, i.e. forgiving only to those who accept his/her existence and worship him/her despite his/her complete and utter lack of respect for humanity as evidenced by his/her flat refusal to provide evidence of his/her existence and a simple clear concise and unique set of guidelines. As yet, there are tens and possibly hundreds of distinct and different sets of rules handed out and no clear way to pick from among them.

    For me to get to your blog, you’ll need to provide a link.

  10. Misanthropic Scott says:

    To any that follow, this link appears to be to the topic to which lifespillingover has referred in his/her prior post.

  11. Higghawker says:

    Scott,

    I would like to respond to your mention of God’s chosen people. As before, you seem to be caught up with mis-understanding the text.

    “Look at all the good he has done for his chosen people over the millennia. I do not want god pursuing me or blessing me. I just want him/her to leave me alone.”

    The Jews were God’s chosen people for that time period. You must understand, that this was for a time. He gave them 10 rules to follow. They were to see their need for a Savior. There are no chosen people today. You have the ability to become a Christian, by obeying the New Testament, believing, repenting, and being baptized for your sins. It matters not if you are a Jew, Greek, etc. You absolutely have choice!

    As far as God leaving you alone. He will grant you this. Christianity is ALL about CHOICE, and obedience.

  12. Misanthropic Scott says:

    Higghawker,

    OK, so now you claim Christians are chosen. What difference does that make? It’s still the same old uber-violent religion. Look at all the good Christianity has done to the world, crusades, inquisitions, IRA, murdered doctors, eminent domain, clinic bombings, criminally negligent mass murder by perpetuation of AIDS (distribution of condoms is against the church; horribly painful death by AIDS is not), poverty through over-breeding (be fruitful and multiply? this may be the greatest crime against humanity and the biosphere ever), violence against homosexuals, etc.

  13. bobbo says:

    Scott–why lay blame to God for 911 or other misanthropic acts performed by humans? Same with Iraq war? for those “natural events” though, yea, lets give God credit for that.

    My favorite most recent hypocrisy of late comes from Star Jones who was vacationing in Thailand during that disaster. What was it–200K killed by tsunami, but Star Jones thanked God for his mercy in saving her life.

    You know Scott, when you are personally saved by God in the middle of a natural disaster, you will then believe in his mercy and blessed nature.

    Hah, hah. I take it all back.

  14. ? says:

    but where is god

  15. Misanthropic Scott says:

    bobbo,

    Actually, my main point was to point out exactly the type of hypocrisy you mention, thanking god for the good, but never blaming god for the bad. However, if you want to ask my opinion of 9/11, in that case, god really does carry blame. Since god does not exist as an actual entity, but only as a human concept, this human concept should get the blame when believers in this crap kill because, in their minds, god told them to. So, while no actual god can get any credit or blame for 9/11 due to god’s non-existence as an entity, the god concept can indeed get the blame. God blessed America on 9/11. Now let’s hope like hell the fucker leaves us alone for a while.

    ?,

    God exists only in the minds of believers, making this one hell of a god-infested planet.

  16. Mr. Fusion says:

    I remember being at a wedding right after 9/11. I got into a discussion with a fundy who’s church speaks in tongues. I asked her where her god was when those planes flew into the buildings. Her reply was to the effect that maybe all those people had offended god and deserved to die or were on god’s (s)hit list for whatever reason.

    My response was then why, if god wanted them all dead, was she so effen upset at the hijackers and not happy to see god’s work done.

    My niece has a twisted spine from spina bifida. SB is caused by a lack of folic acid during the first trimester. My sis-in-law though refuses to eat anything green. Or vegetable for that matter. She will pray her butt off (yup, all 75” worth) for god to help her daughter. Even praise god after another successful operation to help straighten her back. The very same god who caused or gave the girl the condition in the first place.

  17. Mr. Fusion says:

    Another comment that just came to me a couple of weeks ago.

    Every year I dress up as Santa for a couple of charities. Most of the kids love me and can’t wait to tell me what they want for Christmas. Others are scared poopless (although it may be contained with Pampers) at the very thought of an old fat guy all dressed in red with a long white beard.

    The ones that talk to me I always ask if they have been good. Inevitable they say yes. I then ask if they didn’t clean up their room when their mother asked? Only once did I get an answer that that didn’t happen. (The mother and child slept on a couch at a friends house) The parents love this approach and it appears I DO have the ability to watch them and make up a list.

    My point is that I represent some mythical figure capable of performing supernatural things. I can see all and know who has behaved and who hasn’t. If you behave I will reward you with toys. But you must believe in me. For those who misbehave or don’t believe there will only be a consolation prize or nothing.

    Now the only difference between Santa and a mythical god is the age of those who believe. If I don’t believe in god then I won’t get into heaven and might even end up in a really bad place. If I misbehave I might end up with some bituminous coal that will contribute to global warming and acid rain.

    The carrot and the stick to gain compliance.

    Have a good New Year

  18. Misanthropic Scott says:

    Mr. Fusion,

    Dressing up as a mythical character and getting a point across to children sounds like a good idea. Now, how about dressing up like god and making the point to adults that there isn’t one? I wonder how that would go over.

    Happy new year to you too.

  19. I have no problem with religion perse I have a problem in peoples interpretation of it. I was raised in judeo/catholic home and I know how much of a divide that was being my dad was catholic my mom jewish, Instead of finding the good in both “STORIES” they bickered over how to raise a child. I know the BORN AGAIN christians will say well were right and your wrong crap and I just feel that instantly a WRONG Thing to do. Give the child basics of both and let them decide what is right for them. Tearing up another persons view doesn’t give anyone the option to be WHO THEY ARE, besides are we not Instilled with FREE WILL as most would say, so If someone believes in a Toaster being there god SO Be it, arguing about it won’t solve world hunger,poverty,OVERPOPULATION etc. I have a minor in religious studies covering ALL religious backgrounds. They all have loop holes and have errors either but someone not being the full writer of the book or just interpretations throughout the years I mean even CHRISTIAN theologians cannot fully say the new testament is written by the ACTUAL Prophets and even word of mouth even just oral translation will ALWAYS be flawed and with errors! has anyone played the gay Phone tag than you get my drift. Now I know alot of religious people on here will say I have a close relationship and mercy and his love is merciful and without flaws and the book is the holy grail nothing in is without flaws its perfect. If it is then you wouldn’t have to overhype it. People should try to see there religion from a Non religious point of view sometimes instead of just closing the mind off. I have to have been there and I was very devoted to my faith I even tried christianity,and islam,hinduism and I find all of them Have WONDERFUL TEACHINGS and life lessons. if we cannot see eye to eye and just treat each other with respect then how are we going to teach someone a beautiful STORY? how are we going to see someone’s point of view without not getting passed our own? Persecution works both ways and in the case of christianity it has persecuted alot of innocent people throughout the ages NO? inquisition,Woman,minorities,jews etc let us all just respect and let everyone be good people in the end were all vying for the same rights to be HAPPY and loved..LOVE SHOULD BE YOUR RELIGION, compassion,understanding

  20. sorry for the typo on my last post. but I wanted to say that Religion can be a beautiful birthing of new and wonderful things but it can also be distructive and horrible in the hands of the person Teaching such things…I rather be lead by the blind guy who knows where the way to the ocean is then to be lead by the man who has read and word of mouthed it..so many things can be said about People thoughts throughout the ages!…we are constantly discovering things about without RELIGION and without some book telling us whats right and wrong. SCIENCE is making a comeback (THANK GOD) lol see even I am the victim of bombarded thinking..FREE THINKING Is what we need

  21. Steves says:

    Kight was right!

    “I do not feel challenged by organized religion. In some cases it is helpful, and often is harmful.”

    Morris Kight, a Comanche County Texas Legend
    http://morriskightwineclub.blogspot.com/2011/03/i-do-not-feel-challenged-by-organized.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

