Just say “Hi”

September 13, 2007

Since I have had cases where people typed to me on my about page and don’t like my pages to have discussions on them, I figured I’d set this up. Got something to say to me that is unrelated to any other topic? Please put it here. I’ll get back to you.


What is the Sustainable Human Population for this Planet?

September 13, 2007

First and foremost, I must state that this write-up is hatched out of my own little brain and is not intended to be truly scientific. It probably does not even qualify as a SWAG (scientific wild-assed guess).

That said, perhaps it will ring true through plain ordinary logic with a few facts mixed in. Please let me know where I have gone wrong on this. I have attempted to deliberately over-estimate the population to come up with what would be considered a less unpleasant number by all but the most misanthropic among us.

Read the rest of this entry »


Continuous Glucose Monitoring with Medtronic/MiniMed

September 13, 2007

UPDATE: THIS THREAD IS CLOSED AND NOT CURRENT. For an updated view of my experience with this product, please go to my more recent post, from 12/5/2007, on the same topic, just click this link.

First I should state that I have not yet been using the continuous glucose metering from Medtronic/MiniMed for long, less than one month. The learning curve appears to be quite large, even for someone with a strong technology background and competence with other electronic devices, even for someone already in tight glucose control.

I would also like to state that even at these early stages and with the lengthy laundry list of issues I’ve had, I have also gotten some very good information from the continuous monitoring, even at this early stage. I have already adjusted my basal rate for a much more even reading throughout the night. I have already learned that I was under-bolusing, especially for breakfast and lunch. I have also had times when the alerts have told me my blood sugar was either high or low that I would otherwise have remained unaware of.

These hint at great things to come as I learn more about the proper use of this device. I would hope that this page will serve to help others set realistic expectations for what they can get from this device and shorten their learning curves to avoid some of the pitfalls I have made. As I get better with this device, I expect to post more threads with pointers for improving results. I will be more likely to do so if others respond on this thread to let me know that it is being read.

Read the rest of this entry »


Suggested Topics

September 13, 2007

If you have a topic you’d like to discuss, please post it here as a suggestion. If I decide that it fits my site well I’ll likely post it as a topic. Please note though that I have many topics in mind already and will not likely get to all of those. So, if you do the work of writing up the whole topic so I can just cut and paste, I’m much more likely to post it and credit you.

In general, so far, I have preferred original topics on this blog rather than creating a discussion board for current events. Dvorak and many others already do a fine job of essentially being an RSS feed with discussions.

I’m sure that in the future, I’ll fall into that category at least a few times. So far though, I am avoiding it.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers